Black and Gold French

For today’s mani I have a quick and easy French tip. I wanted to go a different route and so a black base with a gold tip. Originally I wanted to do more of a true yellow gold but I wanted to use both Zoya polishes and somehow I don’t have Ziv or Goldie (I could have sworn I owned Ziv!). So instead I reached for Jules, a more champagne gold. The colors actually go very well together in this mani.

I started with two coats of Dovima, which is a shimmery black matte. Then I free handed Jules over the tips of my nails. I didn’t use a top coat at first so you could see the matte and shiny polishes together.

IMG_2418a IMG_2434a

The I added a top coat which I think I liked better. It makes Dovima darker and more sparkly and just finishes the look. I think the glossy top coat also evens out the look of the tips a bit better since they were done free hand and aren’t completely even.

IMG_2439a IMG_2449a

Do you like the unconventional twist on a French mani or are you a traditionalist? I personally think you can be much more creative this way and get so many different combinations.

Leave a Reply

